About 4TU

4TU contributes to the well-being of the Netherlands by strengthening and pooling knowledge and creativity in the technology sector, and by exploiting it to maximum effect. This is why the four universities of technology (TU Delft, Eindhoven University of Technology, University of Twente and University of Wageningen) are jointly committed to strengthening and pooling their technical knowledge with the aim of producing sufficient numbers of highly qualified engineers and technical designers, of conducting outstanding and socially relevant research of an international standard, and of promoting cooperation between research institutes and businesses.

4TU core values


4TU links the three universities of technology of the Netherlands together. There are five joint Master of Science study programmes, and the twenty post-Master’s programmes are bundled in the 4TU.School for Technological Design. Research activities are grouped according to theme in 4TU.Research Centres. The result is that the three universities of technology both link and strengthen their teaching and research activities.


By linking and mutually strengthening its research and teaching, the 4TU.Federation has become a discussion partner for government bodies (including at European level), research institutes and socio-political organisations. Among the contributions made are those to ‘topsector’ (‘leading sector’) policies and the ‘techniekpact’ (‘technology pact’).


The cooperation between the four universities of technology serves to encourage innovation and renewal in teaching and research. Five renewal programmes have been carried out since 2006 by 3TU.Centres of Excellence (and in 2016: 4TU.Research Centres). At the same time, the 4TU.Centre for Research Data is engaged in stimulating policies and developing methods for open access data. This puts the universities at the head of the field in the development of new technologies.